North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (as ‘’Organisation du traité de l’Atlantique nord’’ in French), is an intergovernmental military alliance that fulfills the objectives of the North Atlantic Treaty, which was signed on the 4th of April 1949. The alliance contains a total of 29 North American and European countries. The organization was originally established to restrain communism yet for the present time it relys on a collective defence system among the members of the organization. The headquarters of the organization are located in Belgium and pursues the providing of international peace and security.

TOPIC: Open agenda.

Committee Directors: Burak ERHAN – Tuna ZEYNELOĞLU

NATO Study Guide